EMD Logo

Energy Minerals Division

A Division of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists

Honors & Awards Nominations

Website upgrade in progress. Please bear with us while we work behind the scenes to improve and update for all EMD members


AAPG Career Center
“Your career partner for life.”

Support the
AAPG Foundation!

Honorary Membership


Honorary Membership was initiated by the Division in 1998 and is bestowed upon Division members who have distinguished themselves by their service to the Division and devotion to the sciences involved with energy minerals geology. By EMD Leadership Council action, this honor is the Divisions’ highest award. RECIPIENTS

To make a nomination either use the following online submittal form or download this Microsoft Word form to save and return via email.

Name of Nominee
Recommended by
Recommendor's Email:
Summarize why the Honors and Awards Committee should consider this nominee

Supporting documentation such as vita, letters of support, etc. should be emailed separately to Norma Newby; use as much space as needed.

Some sample citations:

In honor and recognition of many years of dedicated service and guidance to the Energy Minerals Division as President, Vice President and Councillor, and for service as Chair of the Nominations, Program, Coalbed Methane, International, and Symposium Committees, and for excellence in the geology of energy minerals.

In honor and recognition of his many years of dedicated service to the Energy Minerals Division, having served several terms with excellence as Treasurer as Councillor at different times for both the Southwest and the Gulf Coast sections, for service on many EMD committees, and for his tireless efforts in placing EMD on a sound financial basis.

Other examples can be found in the awards section of the convention issue of the Explorer.

Proposed Citation

Please include a 25 word or less Citation for the award

Please enter the text as you see it in textbox below.


Upon submittal this form will be sent to Norma Newby, Manager of the Office of Divisions at AAPG Headquarters. All supporting documentation may be forwarded to her either by email or postal mail.

Norma Newby
P.O. Box 979
Tulsa, Oklahoma  74101-0979

Email: nnewby@aapg.org