EMD Logo

Energy Minerals Division

A Division of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists

About K. David Newell

David Newell

K. David Newell

Energy Research, Kansas Geological Survey - University of Kansas

Lawrence, Kansas

Mid-Continent Section

K. David Newell, Ph.D., P.G. currently serves as the EMD Midcontinent Councilor (2008-2012), and served as EMD Treasurer during term: 2005-2007. He is employed as a Senior Geologist of the Energy Research Section, Kansas Geological Survey, University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS.

Dr. Newell’s fields of research interest include: carbonate geology; fluid inclusions; geological studies related to exploration and utilization of unconventional resources - coalbed gas, shale gas, low-BTU gas, and CO2 sequestration.

He has served as exploration geologist for ARAMCO (Saudi Arabia), Croydon, England (loan assignment from Mobil Oil), and for Mobil Oil, frontier offshore areas (Gulf of Alaska, Atlantic coast); Central America and Caribbean, Dallas, TX

Dr. Newell’s has received the following honors and awards to date:

EMD Best Poster Presentation (2006, coauthor)
Energy Minerals Division (EMD), American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) Annual Convention, Houston, TX
EMD President’s Award for Excellence in Presentation (2004)
AAPG Annual Convention, Dallas, TX; (2009, coauthor) AAPG Annual Convention, Denver, CO

In adjunct positions, he has served as Adjunct Professor, Emporia State University, Dept. of Earth Sciences, Emporia, KS, and for the University of Missouri – Kansas City, Dept. of Geosciences, Kansas City, MO

Dr. Newell’s recent publications include:

He received a B.S. degree in 1973 from Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN, in geology, with a math minor; a M.S. degree in 1975 from University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI, in structural geology; and a Ph.D. in 1996 from University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS, in carbonate geology. He is a Registered Geologist - State of Kansas (#262), and a member of the Kansas Geological Society, the Kansas Academy of Science, the Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists, Geological Society of America, Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM), and Sigma Xi (scientific honorary).